2020/21 committee elected

24 Jul

The 2020/21 Wellington/Hutt Valley GFHA Committee was elected at our AGM which took place in Island Bay United’s clubrooms at Wakefield Park Berhampore on Wednesday 22 July.

President Denise Durkin, Secretary Ken Lee, PRO John ‘Bobs’ Daly and Youth Officer Davey Rynne remain in their respective roles for the coming season. Enda Costello moves from Player Development Officer into the role of Vice President and Kate McCarthy vacates the Vice Presidency to assume tournament responsibilities.

New Committee members include: Damien Farrelly who has taken over the club’s fiscal duties; Ronan O’Malley is our new Events Officer extraordinaire; Bryan ‘Badger’ Downes — who has previously served on the Committee in a number of guises — will take on the role of Development/Cultural Officer; and Tiaré Verenitani will provide support to the Committee throughout the year. All the best to the newly elected Committee — our club is in great hands.

Finally, a special thanks must go to our outgoing Committee members: Treasurer Alison Gilroy, Events Officer Máire Dineen and Tournament Manager Eimear Rodden for your great work over the last year — it was greatly appreciated and the club is certainly in a better place thanks to you.

Committee roles

President: Denise Durkin
Vice President: Enda Costello (succeeds Kate McCarthy)
Secretary: Ken Lee
Treasurer: Damien Farrelly (succeeds Alison Gilroy)
Public Relations Officer: John ‘Bobs’ Daly
Events Officer: Ronan O’Malley (succeeds Máire Dineen)
Tournament Officer: Kate McCarthy (succeeds Eimear Rodden)
Development/Cultural Officer: Bryan ‘Badger’ Downes (succeeds Enda Costello)
Youth Officer: Davey Rynne
Committee support: Tiaré Verenitani (new role)